Do you mind? - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Shannon Roest - WaarBenJij.nu Do you mind? - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Shannon Roest - WaarBenJij.nu

Do you mind?

Door: Shannon

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Shannon

30 Mei 2014 | Australië, Sydney


Do you mind reading an English blog? Because I feel like writing one ☺
For the last couple of months I have been having a pretty good relationship with Google translate, whenever I needed to check my spelling or search for that one specific word it was there for me. Always NL-EN of course. Today was a different story and I kind of laugh at myself for this. I was buzzy writing my second report for school, the one that I’m allowed to write in Dutch, and I kept starting to change my writing into English in the middle of my sentences. And it got even worse when I caught myself using my friend Google translate to translate English words into Dutch words, yeah right. That’s when you realise you’re turning into an Aussie!

While writing this blog a new month is knocking on my door, it’s almost June. Almost summer in the Netherlands and almost winter over here. Well winter, we Dutch people would be happy to call this summer. 23 degrees Celsius and sunny during the day, lucky us! Unfortunately I can’t really enjoy the sun since, the sunset is at 16.54, I leave the office at 5 pm everyday. This is one of the reasons why I would love to finish my internship as soon as possible and start enjoying the city a bit more. Not because I don’t like my placement though, I love it!! I can count myself very lucky for being able to spend my time at this amazing company. Three more weeks to go, equals 13 more working days. And that to me is insane. Three weeks out of the twenty I came here for. Two more months in Australia out of the six I came here for. This scares me a bit, time flies and it flies pretty damn hard.

It would be a complete different situation if I stayed in the Netherlands but there’s still no “hair on my head” (my Dutch colleague and I keep making jokes about translating our Dutch sayings) that regrets my choice to come here. I have learned a lot already while working fulltime about Marketing. Working on both business and marketing plans, business proposals, creative briefs, social media plans and some more researches.
I have learned a lot about myself as well, I’m perfectly able to live on my own and take care of myself although it would be good to be home again. I’m still a sucker for stressful situations and I can surprise myself on a daily basis with what I’m capable of.

The last couple of weeks some housemates have left, they either went back home or went traveling. Saying “goodbye” (or “see you soon” cause I hate saying goodbye) is kind of weird. It feels a bit sad every time because everyone just knows it’s him or her who is going to be on that same spot anytime soon. Especially when we hear that they, those who are back in the Netherlands, have a hard time adapting and miss Sydney as being their hometown. “Please enjoy it to the fullest” is what they all remind us of. And we sure will!!
We try to enjoy the weekends as much as we can by planning small trips, nice days at the beaches (all of them are little paradises on earth) and having dinner with little groups. Vivid for example, a yearly laser light show here in Sydney and Watsons Bay formed our last weekend. For tonight we have planned a girls night at the house. Baking pancakes, enjoying a chocolate fondue, playing games and go clubbing afterwards and all of this with a marine theme!! Just being with the group is the golden recipe for a good time.
Tonight will be the first night that we are not with just Dutch people, the last couple of weeks the Dutch house turned into an International house. With Swedish, French, Polish, Colombian, Canadian, Malaysian and English people we can no longer be called the stupid Dutchies. Jeeejj to me for being able to work on my English communication skills!
I might even have a new roommate anytime soon, an international one for sure. Although I really prefer to have my own room it would be really good for me to have someone to share my room with.
Okay I really need to go back to my schoolwork now, nearly finished it!

See you all soon, really soon!!!

With love

  • 30 Mei 2014 - 08:35

    Marga:

    Lief nichtje, dochter van mijn zusje,

    Jeetje Shannon, wat schrijf jij toch mooi! Wat een combi van ratio en emo. Je bent sterk en kwetsbaar tegelijkertijd en "you're not afraid to show that"! Respect! En..... wow, wat heb jij een hoop ervaren en geleerd en dat op vele fronten, zoals je zelf ook al schrijft.

    Liefs, liefs, miauw, miauw van Marga, Ron, Diantha en Da Vinci


  • 30 Mei 2014 - 09:07

    Arjan:

    Watchout.....she is turning into an Aussie

  • 30 Mei 2014 - 10:16

    Cor:

    Hello niece Shannon,

    Is she a Dutch girl or is she an Aussie? I don't no anymore. I hope she is still Dutch!!!

    You're doing great girl.

    See you soon.

    I hope my English writing is okay, because i don't use google translate.

    Love en greetings,

    (uncle) Cor

  • 30 Mei 2014 - 11:32

    Linda:

    Hoi Shannon,

    Ja ja, je laatste maand in Australië is bijna aangebroken. Heerlijk vooruitzicht om eindelijk van een paar weekjes vrije tijd te gaan genieten. Geniet met volle teugen!! Ik moet nog vijf weken werken en heb dan ook veel vrije tijd. Dikke kus van ons.

    PS. Knap van jou Cor ! Alleen en is and! Grapje!!!!!!
    Liefs, Linda

  • 30 Mei 2014 - 18:57

    Mom:

    Dear Shannon,

    Yes Dear. Time flies when youre having fun!!!

    COUNT DOWN. Only three more weeks to go and then............. HOLIDAY!!!!!

    ENJOY!!!
    Lots of love your (dutch) mommy

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Sydney

Dream it, wish it, do it!

Op mijn opleiding wordt er een aantal keer per jaar een bedrijven-dag georganiseerd met als doel het voor studenten toegankelijker te maken om bedrijven te benaderen voor onder andere stages. Altijd trouw aanwezig is ook de stand van Het Stagehuis, met mooie posters die vaak een vakantiegevoel oproepen bij de studenten.
Ongeveer anderhalf jaar terug raakte ik uit nieuwsgierigheid in gesprek met één van de dames van Het Stagehuis die mij enthousiast vertelde over haar reis naar Australië. Het klonk als een waar sprookje en misschien wel belangrijker, als een kans die je maar één keer krijgt. Vanaf dat moment had ik was ik geïnfecteerd met de droom net zo'n mooie reis te maken. "Dream it, wish it, do it" was vanaf dat moment mijn quote. Na anderhalf jaar regelen, sparen en veel invulwerk kan ik echt zeggen dat ik een droom laat uitkomen: morgen vertrek ik richting het mooie Australië!! Vanaf woensdag mag ik Sydney mijn woonplaats noemen, ga ik fulltime stage lopen in een kleinschalig Marketing bedrijf en zal ik mijn persoonlijke grenzen gaan opzoeken.

Ondanks dat het idee om zes maanden weg te zijn van het vertrouwde een beetje onwennig is heb ik heel veel zin in dit avontuur! Afgelopen week ben ik heel vaak in het zonnetje gezet door alle lieve mensen om mij heen die mij stuk voor stuk steunen in wat ik ga doen. Beter kan je niet weggaan denk ik, let's do this, let's go down under!!!!! :)


Recente Reisverslagen:

30 Juli 2014

Memories will last a lifetime

28 Juni 2014

Live love life

30 Mei 2014

Do you mind?

02 Mei 2014

Half way there

21 Maart 2014

Never been better
Shannon

"The world is like a book, and those who do not travel read only a page." Soms moeten dingen op je pad komen, het begint als een onschuldige droom die uitgroeit tot werkelijkheid. Reizen is een droom voor vele en dat deze kans op mijn pad kwam was voor mij genoeg om hiervoor te gaan. Met ingang van 29 januari 2014 zal ik voor een periode van zes maanden in Australië verblijven voor mijn stage. Wat ik precies kan verwachten weet ik niet, wat ik wel weet is dat het een hele mooie reis gaat worden. Let's do this!!!

Actief sinds 26 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 568
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9909

Voorgaande reizen:

27 Januari 2014 - 07 Juli 2014

Dream it, wish it, do it!

Landen bezocht: